Modern Witches. A Study in Photos, Part 3.

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

You might be thinking, “Part 3? Where the heck are Parts 1 & 2?”. Not to worry, I got you. I originally began this series over on the witchy blog, Bubble and Brew,  I write with Margot Meanie. However, we’re changing up some stuff over there and I’ve decided to move this project over here. If you’d like to read the previous posts (and it would be so great f you did!) you can see them here and here.

I hadn’t realized it, but it’s been more than six months since I posted Part 2 featuring my friend Alison. Man…life can sometimes take your grand plans and just sweep them off the table sometimes, huh? When I began this project it went something like this: “So I’ve got this cool camera now. I should take pictures. Of what? Flowers? Trees? No…(dramatic pause) I know! Witches! I’m going to photograph amazing modern witches in their homes, interview them, and change the archaic view people have of us. And I’m going to do it on a regular basis!” And so it began…Each amazing witch is sent the same questions to answer; and I have to say that the answers blow me away each time in their clarity, singularity and simpleness. I am so psyched about this project and I hope you dig it.

Anyhoo…if you’ve been reading Bubble and Brew or following me on Instagram you probably know that I was blessed with the coming together of a witches’ circle this year. In fact, it was a dream of mine for years and with some intention, courage, and the courage of those who joined me, it is now a reality. But I’ll write more about that at a later date.

Today, I’m here to talk a bout modern witches, one in particular, Cheri.

Cheri is the most magnificent crone; and I truly mean that with the utmost respect. She is, in fact, one of the original members of the circle I mentioned. When she swept into our first gathering that day…well let’s just say it was a blessing from the universe an I was immediate grateful for her.

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

Not only is she awesome, but she’s crazy gifted, too. Cheri has the ability to channel nature spirits. In fact, she’s travelled the world and written two books on the subject. You can find out more about that here. And now, my friends, on to the questions!

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

Me: What does the word “witch” mean to you?

Cheri: A Women Initiating (spiritual) Transition, by Challenging (the) Hierarchy

                                                       A WITCH”

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

Me: When did you openly share your witch status?

Cheri: “I have never, not shared it.”

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

Me: How did you know you were a witch?

Cheri: As above, I never knew when I wasn’t.”

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

Me: What, in your experience, in the biggest misconception about witches as a whole?

Cheri: “That they are all evil and perform black/bad magic.”

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

 

Me: What is your center, spiritually speaking?

Cheri: “Nature”

Modern Witches Part 3
Part three in my series exploring just what and who are modern day witches.

Me: Use three words to describe yourself as a person

Cheri: “Intuitive, reliable, aware”

Indeed, Miss Cheri, Indeed. ❤

Hopefully you’ll all be seeing a new installation in this series soon(ish). As always, thanks for reading and have a blessed week.

Also, if you or someone you know is a witch living in Southern California who might be interested in being featured here, feel free to get in touch with me.

Leave a Reply

