Dry Brushing Is Awesome

Hi you guys! It’s been a while, I know. I have so much to share with you, but I have not been able to pin down an idea until yesterday, when I shared a post on IG about dry brushing.  I was sort of surprised that more people had not heard of it. And just like that, this post became a need.

 

I started regularly dry brushing about four or five months ago. To be honest, in the beginning it felt like such a hassle; just one more thing to do. Then again, I find most aspects of grooming to be tedious. But then…results started to reveal themselves & I was transformed into a believer!

As ever, I am not an expert, but I love sharing what I learn through my experiences. Here’s what I have learned about dry brushing thus far:

  • about 1/3 of our bodies toxins are released through our skin
  • dry brushing helps to unclog pores and excrete said toxins
  • it stimulates the lymphatic system (like the strainer for toxins in our bodies)
  • it’s a wonderful exfoliant
  • it’s a relaxing task, stress relieving even
  • it’s also great for digestion
  • and the kidneys, too!
  • it can aid in ridding oneself of cellulite

I am sure there are many other reasons. In fact, I like to think that this is a very old, very sacred practice. However, I (as of yet) can’t be bothered to go into that research.

By now I am sure you are thinking “wow, Michelle, this really does sound wonderful. How do I do it?!?!?”.

Not to worry, I’ve got you covered (and it’s very simple).

I like to do this before I go into the shower; it’s just more practical. So, as you might imagine, step one is to go get yourself a dry brushing brush. I found mine at Target for six bucks.

You’ll want to get natural, not synthetic bristles.

Next step: get nekkid!

1e2d546d7981b712bcd295d27cdb4d75

When dry brushing you’ll want to use soft, long strokes, always brushing towards your heart. I start at my feet, up the legs, then do my trunk up to just under my breasts. Then I start at my hands, and work my way along the arms to my neck and decolletes. Word of caution, the skin there is very, very delicate; so brush gently. Then I brush my breasts, still in the direction of my heart. Be sure you get all your bits and pieces.

h9991282_001
This are where your lymph nodes reside

All in all, this should take you maybe 5 minutes, max.

You might recall that in the beginning of this post I mentioned seeing results. I have long suffered from a skin condition called Keratosis Pilaris. It made me feel self conscious for most of my adult life. After two months of semi regular dry brushing, it has all but vanished! I have read that dry brushing can help with eczema, and plan to start doing this with my son who has it on his  arms and cheeks.

So, there you have it; sort of a Dry Brushing 101. I hope you give it a try & find it to be as rewarding as I have.

 

2 thoughts on “Dry Brushing Is Awesome

  1. I’m not sure it’s exactly the same thing, but I know a couple of moms who do this for kids with sensory issues. It’s supposed to really help them, along with some other sensory therapies. Pretty cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

