Vegan Mexican Lasagna Recipe

Vegan

Let’s start off by clarifying that I am not an experienced vegan. I’m currently in a 40 day (mostly raw) vegan cleanse with my friend and health coach Kate. This recipe was inspired by something she shared. Another clarification: I am big on preparing our food from scratch; that said, this is really a canned meal. You’ll see what I mean. The great news is that it is delicious (I ate it two days in a row), vegan, and super easy & quick to make.

Ingrediants

The Ingredients
Like I said, lots of cans; but that doesn’t mean I threw away my preference for organic goodness. Where possible, I went for non-GMO, organic options.

  • Corn Tortillas
  • Enchilada Sauce
  • Half a White Onion, diced
  • Corn (really search for non-GMO organic corn, it’s worth it)
  • Black Olives (it would be easier to used sliced olives, but this is what I had)
  • Black Refried Beans (make sure they’re vegan!)
  • Vegan Cheddar “cheese” shreds
  • Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper

sizzling onions

How To

  • Set you oven to broil
  • Dice up half of the onion and sauté in a splash of olive oil to your liking (I like mine to brown a bit). Once ready, remove from heat, and set aside.
  • Strain the water from your corn, then pour it into baking dish. Sprinkle with salt & pepper, drizzle with olive oil, and place under broiler to roast. You’ll want to leave it there about 15-20 minutes, but keep an eye on it. They go from browned to burnt really quickly. Once browned to your liking, remove from the oven and set aside.
  • After removing the corn, set your oven to 350

corn.png

  • Now you are ready to start assembling your masterpiece
  • Pour a small amount of enchilada sauce into the bottom of a pan (I used a non-stick cake pan, but use what works for you)
  • Place one tortilla on top of your puddle of enchilada sauce
  • Spread some beans on the tortilla
  • corn(1)
  • Spoon on your corn and onion (not too much or it could all slide apart once cooked)
  • Add your olives
  • corn(2)
  • Sprinkle with “cheese”
  • Pour on a bit more sauce
  • Top with another tortilla
  • Repeat until the portion size is to your liking
  • Pop into the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.
  • corn(3)
  • Eat!

Do you have any amazing vegan recipes for me to check out? Please share! I am sure you can think of many other veggies you might want to add, but I like to keep it simple. Happy eating!

corn(4)

2 thoughts on “Vegan Mexican Lasagna Recipe

Leave a Reply

