Samhain and My Witch-iversary

Happy Witch-iversary to me! Glitter in the DirtLet’s just start with that. It was one year ago that I made the final decision to follow my instincts and devote myself to being a witch. Looking back, I think it was really a long time coming…like my whole life. So many of us live our lives in the broom closet and I never wanted to be like that. In fact, that’s what lead to the shift in this blog. If you started with me when I was doing plus size fashion & body positivity and you’re still here, that’s amazing! I thank you for sticking it out with me. If you’re new (maybe this is your first visit?), WELCOME! I hope we’ll have a chance to interact and learn from each other.

Everyone has a story, I’d imagine, about what lead them to the Craft. Likewise, we mostly all practice in our own ways. Still, we find ourselves a community, bound by the cycles of the moon and the Wheel of the Year. For me, I always knew this was to be my path; but I was lazy and apathetic with my spirit for most of my life. It was last year, on my 39th birthday, when I truly heard the call. Now, having just passed my 40th, I know I made the right choice. I still struggle with being a solitary, and often wish for a coven, a circle of like minded women practice with. I pray to the moon to one day find my tribe so I may love them fiercely and be loved in return. Until then, I’m okay going it alone. Learning, teaching, and growing in preparation for my sisters’ arrivals.

My First SamhainThis is from my first Samhain honoring last year. I left it in my small garden with some food and wine, an offering for the souls who’ve passed. It may look messy and haphazard, but that’s just how I roll. I don’t think it has to be fancy or even pretty, so long as we mean it. Inspiration struck and so I listened. It’s pretty ironic that I began my practice on what is the end of our year.

Sacred Rememberance for SamhainThis area I have prepared in our entryway in remembrance of those who’ve passed. It’s not specifically for my family, just a general remembrance. Each day of the week leading up to Samhain I plan to light the candles for one hour and meditate on them. You may notice my décor does not have the typical glamour or severity of most witches. The reason why is that I have small children and I want them to see Samhain in a positive light. My daughter, in particular shows interest in the Craft and perhaps, one day, I’ll teach her more. For now, I just want to keep it fun.

Samhain Advent CalendarI made this Samhain advent calendar last year and the kids love it! They take turns each day removing a number and counting the days remaining. I mean, why should Christmas get all the advent fun, right?

As for the actual night of Samhain…I’m waiting for inspiration to strike. I do see a visit to a graveyard to leave offerings in my plans. How do you celebrate? I would love to learn from you.

Leave a Reply

