My 10 Favorite 90s Films

Somehow or other, a little google search about some movie trivia lead me down a long and winding path of 90s movie nostalgia. Maybe it is because the 90s were the years when my identity was starting to really form, but these films are cemented into my being. There have been other wonderful films, of course. These, however, these are the ones that give me chills of excitement mixed with a tinge of whimsy & nostalgia whenever I come across them. I thought it might be fun to share, so (in no particular order) here we go!

Singles

Best 90s movies: Singles
If this movie did not shape you in some way, you weren’t a 20 something in the 90s.

Beautiful Girls

Although she is not in this picture, Natalie Portman was the STAR of this film to me
Although she is not in this picture, Natalie Portman was the STAR of this film to me

Mermaids

Best 90s Movies: Mermaids
I mean…c’mon. This movie was perfect!

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Such wonderfully rich characters! I still watch this every few years.
Such wonderfully rich characters! I still watch this every few years.

Fried Green Tomatoes

I will share this with my daughter because it is a beautiful story of sisterhood and female strength.
I will share this with my daughter because it is a beautiful story of sisterhood and female strength.

What’s Eating Gilbert Grape

Ok, at the time I was just in for Johnny Depp. You have to sdmit, this is a great movie and that lil' Leo as already an amazing actor!
Ok, at the time I was just in for Johnny Depp. You have to admit, this is a great movie and that lil’ Leo as already an amazing actor!

Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

I'll admit that I liked this movie for my love of the book...and Uma. <3
I’ll admit that I liked this movie for my love of the book…and Uma. ❀

Twin Peaks Fire Walk With Me

I was obsessed with Twin Peaks. The movie freaked me out and I loved it! Chug a lug, Donna...
I was obsessed with Twin Peaks. The movie freaked me out and I loved it! Chug a lug, Donna…

Thelma and Louise

They basically invented the selfie while saying fuck the man! Talk about sisterhood!
They basically invented the selfie while saying fuck the man! Talk about sisterhood!

Practical Magic

Okay, I saved my favorite for last. I love every single thing abut this movie.
Okay, I saved my favorite for last. I love every single thing abut this movie.

tumblr_m6iexvSSOU1ra6veqo1_500 tumblr_moi7ojFHyy1r5ni4po1_500

Okay, it’s your turn now. What are some of your 90s faves?

3 thoughts on “My 10 Favorite 90s Films

  1. Singles, Thelma & Louise and Fried Green Tomatoes are the BEST! I kind of forget about the 90s because I was so busy and hustling for the cause! But I had a lot of fun, was living the political POC version of Singles and living life hard! Such a lot went on for me at the time. Thanks for the trippy nostalgia trip grrrrrl! Gawd I love that we’re Gen X. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

