Paleo Salisbury Steak Recipe

Paleo Salisbury Steak with Gravy Recipe

First things first, I have realized I need to ensure better food photos in the future. Rest assured, while the following images may look like slop, they are delicious! I promise.

tumblr_lz8s97h7Ib1r14b7b

I am now just over two weeks into an amazing journey of manifesting authenticity (more on that later), and nourishing my body with real, fresh, homemade food is a large part of that journey. Luckily for me, I like to cook. Unfortunately, much of what I previously enjoyed cooking was loaded with processed carbs. I’m endeavouring to turn those recipes into healthful paleo meals, one at a time. Salisbury steak is a great place to start, as it’s basically hamburger patties. For my patties I used a 50/50 mixture of organic grass fed ground beef and bison. Bison can be a tad gamey, so beware if you give it a try.

Paleo Salisbury Steak SpicesTo start,dice a red onion and sautée in coconut oil until soft, then set aside. I am not one to measure while I cook, so season to your own taste. I threw the meat, two eggs, half the sauteed red onion , a dash of brown rice flour for binding, and the spices in a bowl (In the future, I might add sage into the spice mix, too.); then set my hubby to mixing. While he did that, I plopped some more coconut oil into my cast iron pan to melt at medium/high heat. I like to fashion my patties into little oblong shapes, he likes round, so there’s a mix of both. Cook them for about 5 minutes on one side, then 7 on the other. I cook three at a time, but it depends on the size of your pan. Once they’re cooked, set them aside so you can make your sauce. MMmmmmmm….sauce…..

Untitled design(80)The sauce is simple. Using the same pan, add the remaining onion to the pan and stir for 30 seconds, making sure to scrape all the good yummy bits stuck to the bottom of the pan. Then, add about 1 cup of bone broth (here’s a recipe to make your own), a few dashes of worcestershire sauce, and approx 1/3 can of full fat coconut milk and stir, brining just to a boil. Reduce your heat, stir for another 3 minutes, then add your patties back in. Spoon sauce over all the meat for maximum deliciousness. After a few minutes doing it’s thing it’s read to eat!

Paleo Sauce for meat

Paleo Salisbury SteakI paired this with some wonderfully filling and nourishing brown rice (cooked with bone broth instead of water) and the best damned broccoli I’ve ever eaten. You can see the recipe for the broccoli here from Nom Nom Paleo.

Paleo Salisbury Steak RecipeYeah, I know….better pictures next time. Looks aside, it’s deeeeeeeeelish!

Paleo Salisbury Steak got me likeI’m working on some more great recipes to share soon. Do you have a fave dish you’d like to turn Paleo? Let me know and I’ll give it a shot!

4 thoughts on “Paleo Salisbury Steak Recipe

  1. When you said rice cooked with bone broth instead of water– I think I drooled a little. lol I love this recipe. I’m trying to better my eating habits as well so I will most definitely try this yummy recipe oooh and the broccoli one too! I thank you, my tummy thanks you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

