Are You Making Bone Broth? You’re About To Start!

Bone broth; let’s talk about it. If you are squeamish about cooking, this post may not be for you. Fair warning.

Two factors contributed to my current bone broth love. I love learning “new” tried and true recipes. The way things were done domestically up until post WWII are, in my opinion, generally superior to the way we do them now (not less work, mind you). More importantly, I have a little boy with a very troublesome tummy. I have shared before here that I have two children on the Autism Spectrum. My son, much the same as many, many Autistic children, has had gut issues and food allergies since birth. I will not bore you with the quantities and specificities of doctors we have seen over the years…it’s staggering. I will tell you that aside from the identification of his food allergies when he has about 4 months old, not one doctor has been able to help him. We have had him on a gluten free and casein free diet for about 5 years now with much success. It’s been a great help, but still, there has been no healing. I have been reading about bone broth as a course of healing for gut issues and thought it sounded wonderful. It’s not only my son who is eating this, though. I’m finding clever ways to sneak this nutritious goodness into most meals. Here’s a wonderful article from Wellness Mama talking about some of the benefits of bone both. It is also the recipe from that post that I based mine on (only made two little tweaks). I think maybe I’ll write a post later about my son’s tummy issues and how we’ve handled them. For now, let’s just get to the recipe, yes?

Nourishing Bone Broth RecipeFirst and foremost, I want to press the point that quality ingredients are crucial. The whole point of this is to pull out the rich nutrients, so go organic. I was stumped on where one would find a big ol’ bone for a moment. Turns out, my local Sprouts and Whole Foods sell them from the meat counter. They’ll even cut it for you however you’d like. Nice, right? I got this sucker for $6.50.

Making Bone Broth From Scratch
This is half a cow femur.

Following Wellness Mama’s recipe I put this in the oven at 350* for 30 minutes. Then, I placed it into my 5 gallon stock pot and covered it with filtered water (not tap water) and left it at room temperature for another 30 minutes.

Bone broth from scratchWhile the bone water was doing it’s thing, I gave these veggies a wash and rough chop. Once the 30 minutes had passed, I plopped them into the pot along with some fresh thyme and rosemary and set it to medium high just until it started to boil.

Bone Broth Recipe From ScratchOnce it was just about to boil, I popped on the lid and reduced heat to low. After that, it’s really just a waiting game. Wellness Mama says to let it simmer for 48 hours, but I was told to go for 72 hours. Can I just tell you how good my house smelled for the next three days? SO GOOD! Here’s a tip, twice a day check on your broth. I found that I needed to add water every now and then due to evaporation. Don’t worry about diluting it, it’ll be just fine. πŸ™‚

Bone Broth for a Healthy GutThis is how it looked after a full 72 hours of simmering. I scooped out the veggies with a slotted spoon and discarded them (man I wish I had a compost pile at times like that). After removing the bone, I poured the broth through a fine metal sieve twice; to make sure all bits of bone and whatnot had been removed. When all was said and done, I was left with about 2 gallons of bone broth. Since I planned to use it frequently, I did not freeze any, but I have read it freezes well. Once it was cooled to about room temperature I poured it into two glass containers and placed it in the fridge. Then I learned something. It was pretty fatty. That;s not a bad thing, I just hadn’t expected it.

Homemade Bone Broth
that, my friends, is one half inch of fat

I wish I could have thought of a use for the fat. As it was, I just picked up the big solid thing and threw it out. Anyone know hat I could do with it next time?

Glorious homemade bone broth
There it is. Isn’t it lovely?

The broth you’d buy in a store has got nothing on this! Seriously, it’s like velvet in your mouth. I made soup with it, broth with it, rice with it, and basted a roast with it. This stuff is like gold! As I am writing this there is a second batch simmering on my stove. I’m hoping to make a batch of chicken broth next, but I’m having a hard time finding quality bones. So there you have it. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Are You Making Bone Broth? You’re About To Start!

  1. I love making stock from scratch, but I’ve never simmered it for 48 hours, let alone 72 before! Every time I’ve made it, I roast the bones and the veggies for about 45 minutes and then simmer for only 8 hours. It always turns out nice, but man, 72 hours has got to be dreamy!!

    I have never found a use for the fat though.

    Excellent post!

    Like

  2. Loved this! I’m going to do it! I do have a suggestion for the fat. I think you can mix it with birdseed and freeze it then put into a fine mesh bag and hang on a tree branch for the birds. If not that, I’m 100% certain the squirrels will love it! Keep an eye on it tho, it will go rancid quickly in warm temps. Thanks for all you do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

