Autumnal Coziness in Southern California. #Untamed Style.

Untamed Style November. Cozy. Plus Size DIY Cowl.Oh elusive Autumn…How I adore thee. If only we truly had weather her in sunny SoCal. Sigh… This month our #untamedstyle challenge was “cozy”. Well, as you can see, we don’t have too much call for layers and cozy sweaters here. However, I love them and try to make them work, whenever possible. On this particular day it was warm, but windy. So I opted to wear my new cowl (inspired by Clarie’s from Outlander) that I made myself. Yep, I made that shit! It was my very first loom knitting attempt. While imperfect, I adore it nonetheless. In fact, I think it’s imperfections are charming….kind of like me! Imperfect and charming.

Untamed Style. Cozy. Plus Size DIY Fatshion.Quick break from the coziness. Let’ talk about self love. I almost did not post this photo, despite it being my favorite one from the whole set, because you can see where I am missing a tooth. In fact, I am missing three molars and I am terribly, terribly, embarrassed about it. I had problematic back teeth as a child and, as I grew up, they just couldn’t make it; runs in my family. Normally, nobody would know; except when I smile. I have a HUGE wide smile. My smile has actually been the one thing people have commented on about me throughout my life. My smile makes other people smile. That is something to be proud of, I think. Having the ability to bring a smile to someone’s face, to brighten their life for just a moment, simply by flashing my smile their way? That’s something I am only right this very moment coming to see as a gift. So, vanity and insecurity be damned! Smile on!

#UntamedStyle, Cozy, DIY CowlAre you enjoying the non-selfie photography here? Well, as luck would have it, I had the chance to spend the afternoon with a fellow #untamedstyle blogger. She’s one of those amazing women that makes you want to be a better person, too. Smart, worldly, crazily talented, and kind. I adore her.Β  So many HUGE thank yous to Vanessa of SweetLiegh for being such a rad gal pal! We had such a great time taking these photos, too.

Plus Size lifestyle bloggers in sisterhood!Sweet Lovely Vanessa of SweetLiegh.See what I mean? Don’t you just want to hang out with her and radiate in her awesomeness? Obviously, yes!

Lifestyle bloggers Vanessa Leigh and Michelle Guerrero Denison
Because….USies…

The making of the cowl was very simple, if you are wondering. Do you follow me in Instagram? If so, you already know about my new loom knitting obsession. I feel like so many domestic skills are fading away (cooking from scratch, sewing, knitting, gardening, etc…). So I am trying to learn as many as I can. While I am not a master of any of them, I am learning and improving always.

Thanks to my awesome loom, I made this amazing cowl inspired by Claire's from Outlander.There’s a photo of my cowl in progress and a shot of Claire’s from Outlander. If you’re not watching Outlander (and/or reading the books) you really need to think about what you’re doing with your life.

Made it myself Cowl inspired by OutlanderPlus Size Autumnal StyleDon’t forget to pop over and check out my fellow #untamedstyle sisters, too!

Vanessa of SweetLiegh

margotveronicazadryaarti

4 thoughts on “Autumnal Coziness in Southern California. #Untamed Style.

  1. So much fun! I almost picked that profile pic you debated on for my fave in my post. I’m glad I didn’t. I’m glad you picked it for yourself, especially now that I know you had reservations. But the best and most beautiful smile have you. Don’t make me use my Yoda voice. LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d totally love to learn how to do that!! I’ve never been successful with yarn crafts, but that infinity scarf turned out sooo well!! I love your photos today, you both look so happy!

    Alriiight, a pal lent me the Outlander book and I have yet to pick it up, I finally read it!! You all love it so!

    What an amazing backdrop you guys have as well!

    ❀
    margot

    Like

Leave a Reply

