Garlic and Rosemary Grilled Flank Steak with Potatoes

Grilled
Glitter in the Dirt’s recipe: Garlic & Rosemary Flank Steak

First things first, I must be honest…this is not me original recipe. I got it from my gal pal Martha Stewart. Say what you will, that broad knows what she is talking about, and she’s one of my domestic goddesses. You can follow that link to see her recipe (and I’ll paste it here for you, too).

I love flank steak, possible more than even filet mignon. The most important part, to me, is choosing the right piece of meat. Ideally, I would like to get our meat straight from a local farmer, but I haven’t worked that out yet. So, we usually opt to get our meat from Costco. Their cuts are always great, and you can usually get organic/grassfed meat there. Another crucial step in this recipe (you might be tempted to skip, but don’t) is tenderizing the meat…AKA beat the crap out of it. This is going to break up the collagen (flank steak can be tough) and it’ll pay off when you eat, I promise. Also~it’s a great way to get out any built up anger or aggression you might have. I use a wooden rolling pin, but if you have a fancy meat tenderizer, that’s even better.

,
Tenderizing your flank steak is critical for a great end result.
,-1
See how it looks…well, beat up? That’s what you want.

Once you’ve beat the crap outta that hunk of goodness, it’s time to marinate. This recipe calls for a simple, but delicious marinade. I recommend letting it sit for at least 4 hours (flipping the meat halfway through), but I have left it for as long as 24 hours and it was well worth the wait.

,-2
Flank Steak Marinade Ingredients

When it comes time for potatoes, I found the best way to season them was to cut them in halves, place in a bowl and then mix with a liberal amount of olive oil, salt & pepper (sometimes I toss in garlic too). As the coals are warming up on the grill, I toss the potatoes again just to ensure an even coating.

,-3
par boil potatoes then liberally coat with olive oil & seasoning before grilling
Zaftig Times flank steak and potato recipe
Grilled potatoes? Yes!!!

I prefer to do the potatoes first, then set them aside while I grill the steak (potatoes stay hot for so long). However, if your grill is large enough you certainly could do it all at once. I also like to do two flank steaks, because it’s so good there won;t be leftovers if I don’t.

Zaftig Times flank steak and potato recipe
As you can see, I like to use fresh herbs.

Untitled design-2Word to the wise, let the meat rest for at least 5 minutes, loosely covered, before digging in. Also~cut this bad boy against the grain. Just trust me.

Zaftig Times flank steak with potato recipe
We were so hungry, I forgot to take a photo before we ate. So, here’s a leftovers shot.

And here’s Martha’s original recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh rosemary, plus sprigs for garnish
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for brushing
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1 3/4 pounds skirt steak
  • 1 1/2 pounds small red potatoes
  • Coarse salt
  • 3 ounces blue cheese, crumbled

Directions

  1. Step 1

    Preheat grill to high. Stir garlic, rosemary, Worcestershire sauce, and oil in a nonreactive dish; season with pepper. Place steak in dish, cutting to fit if necessary; coat both sides with marinade. Marinate, turning once, 15 minutes, or up to overnight in the refrigerator.

  2. Step 2

    Cover potatoes with cold water in a medium saucepan; add a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer until just tender, about 15 minutes. Drain; let cool slightly. Slice potatoes in half, and brush lightly with oil; season with salt and pepper.

  3. Step 3

    Grill steak, turning once, to desired doneness, 3 to 4 minutes per side for medium-rare. Set aside. Meanwhile, grill potatoes, turning once, until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Immediately sprinkle with cheese. Thinly slice steak against grain. Divide steak and potatoes among 4 plates. Serve, garnished with rosemary sprigs.

Source

Martha Stewart Living, August 2005

6 thoughts on “Garlic and Rosemary Grilled Flank Steak with Potatoes

Leave a Reply

