City Chic Comes to the USA!

I think it’s safe to say that we, as plus size women, fat women, curvy women, (however you feel best referring to yourself), are always on the lookout for a new place to shop. This is why City Chic coming to the USA is so very exciting! For those of you who aren’t familiar, City Chic is an Australian brand with a marvellous reputation for style and quality. This past weekend I took a trip to their new location in Brea, and I was blown away. I simultaneously had two experiences. Firstly, as a shopper, the store is beautiful, and the product knocked my socks off! Secondly, as a retailer (this is where my professional history lies) I thought is was so smartly laid out. City Chic, nice job!!!

Image from Getty Images

I walked around for a good 15 minutes just soaking it all in. It truly felt…chic. It feels like a very chic loft nestled into a some very chic city. Sorry to sound so literal, but the just nailed it. With decorative accents such as framed art, little sitting areas and plants, the vibe was very polished and very welcoming. I felt like a woman in this place. W-O-M-A-N, woman.  I love, love, LOVE the layout and fixturing in the store. No ugly rounders taking up space and making it impossible to move. Despite the store being filled with merchandise, it felt very open and free. Note: there is a much wider variety of product online; the store has a 10% of their selection in house.

Photo from Getty Images
Next time, I plan to try on bras!

I could hardly wait to get in the fitting room, but wait I did. There were so many of us just dying to slip into these glorious garments that there was a wait to get in a fitting room! That’s to be expected with a new store, so I didn’t mind one little bit. Plus, the fitting room is so beautiful and comfortable, the the wait flew by.  I only tried on a few pieces this time (trying to be kind to my fellow shoppers), but I plan to go back and really dig in soon.

Image from Getty Images
Image from Getty Images
I do wish the lighting in the fitting room were a bit less…shadowey (I just made a word up again, didn’t I?)

I am so pleased to report that their fit was on point! See those boyfriend jeans? Do you know how happy I was that there was no big gap in the back over my butt? Like, so happy! And this kimono? Forget about it! It’s only one of the most perfect things I have ever put on my body…ever! I need it desperately and hope to make it mine very soon. One thing about the sizes: they make take a minute to get used to. They are small, medium, large and xl, not the 1X, 2X, 3X we have grown accustomed to. I (as size 20) fit comfortably into a size large. Oh, and do you see that fella in the photo with me up there? That’s Phil Ryan, director of City Chic. He and quite a few other wonderfully friendly executives were in town from Australia for the opening. They were all cheerful and chatty and warm. He, however, said something to me in passing about their merchandise that really stuck with me. I wish I had written it down, but I didn’t. So I will paraphrase. It was something to the effect of We don’t tell our lady what to buy or like, we let her tell us and we do our best for her. Again I am paraphrasing, but it was a great thing to hear from a retailer. Phil Ryan, I thin you are pretty great!

To wrap it up, I am basically in love. So in love, in fact, that they make me want to come out of retail retirement just so I can be part of this. And that is really saying something! City Chic is delivering to us style, quality and respect.

Leave a Reply

