My 5 Current Obsessions

As you may have noticed, I’ve been a bit inconsistent with my blog posts this summer. There are a few reasons for this. The first is that my kids are on summer vacation and I have been enjoying pouring just about all my energy into them on a daily basis…all day…everyday…all the time…frankly, it’s been exhausting.  The other reason is this: I have , for the first time in my adult life, been enjoying what summertime has to offer. I’ve been wearing shorts, going to the beach, BBQ-ing (a lot), trying new beers, etc… I believe I have this journey of body positivity and feminism to thank for my new found summer love. I must admit, though, as September draws near I’m fantasizing about scarves, boots and layering pieces. So in lieu of the profound BoPo piece I’d intended to write this week, I’m going to share my 5 current obsessions with you. Here we go!

Modern Times Beer

Specifically, their Black House stout brew. This beer is so good that it necessitated a trip to San Diego just to visit the brewery where it’s made. Let me tell you, it was worth the trip! The brewery is amaaaaaazing. Filled with books (check out what the bar is made of), games to play, a HUGE mural made from post-it’s, a wall papered in comic book pages, an more. Honestly, if you can go, you should go. Note: don’t play Jenga on their marble bar…they frown on it.

Jenga

I love games. In fact, I used to have a weekly game night with girlfriends a few years ago. I’m thinking I might need to start doing this again, but I digress. On two separate occasions, my darling husband and I found ourselves out for drinks in bars with Jenga available to play. We got hooked pretty fast, bought our own and now play…a lot. There have been some heated debates over official rules in our house, let me tell you. I’ve been so into playing it, that I haven’t thought to photograph some of the glorious towers we’ve created (only to see them crumble shortly after).

Enjoying the Sunshine

Admittedly, I don’t like being hot. So my sunshine enjoyment goes hand in hand with being in the water. Last year, you may recall, I co-hosted a body positive beach party . However, I can’t say that I truly enjoyed it. I was new to my body love and although I walked a damn fine walk, I just wasn’t there 100%.  This year is a very different story. At the pool, at the beach, alone, with friends or family, I am just LOVING every moment (and I’ve got the tan to prove it!) I don’t know what’s different,exactly. Maybe it’s you guys, maybe it’s all the reading I’ve done, and the conversations with other body positive friends and bloggers. Whatever it is, it’s a blessing.

Shout out to my girls for coming to my pool party! ❤ Pia, Christine, Laura, Veronica and Charvelle ❤

Kimonos

Oh-Mah-Gawd….the kimono trend has hit me like a ton of bricks! I am not usually a trendy girl, but this hits right in my boho/vintage sweet spot. I’m not going to go into a shopping rant right now, but I have to say, Forever 21+ has been killing it in this arena. The photo on the right, while not flattering (thanks husband) is particularly cool because it’s a scarf tied into a kimono-esque fashion. There’s a simple video on my Instagram if you want to check it out.

Reading

I love books. I have always loved books. Reading is such a convenient way to take a mental vacation, start an adventure, fall in love, learn something…or do just about anything you can imagine. My life hadn’t allowed me much time for this since becoming a mother. Or maybe, I just didn’t make it a priority. While I have always encouraged my children to read, making regular trip to the library, I had not done the same for myself. I’m happy to say that I’ve devoured 3 books in the last month, am well into my fourth and have plans to dive into the Outlander series after that. I find it relaxing and rejuvenating and I just can’t get enough. It’s particularly delicious with a glass of wine, curled up on the couch after everyone’s fallen asleep….bliss!

So there they are, my obsessions. Being the free spirit that I am, they may change by next week. Who knows? In fact, I’m experiencing a great deal of curiosity about yoga at the moment..we’ll see. What are you obsessed with right now? I’m always looking for new things to learn and try.

Leave a Reply

