Product Review: Olay Regenerist Luminous

photo borrowed from their website

I am forever searching for the right moisturizer for my skin. Truthfully, up until about 5 years ago, I never used any…at all. Despite every single magazine telling me that moisturizer was the #1 thing I should be doing, I just didn’t see the need. And when I did try one, inevitably it broke my face out. Then, at around the age of 33, I looked in the mirror one day and noticed that my make-up was no longer blending into my skin. It was more or less just sitting on top of it, and there were dry patches, and…oh no!…teeny tiny wrinkles were beginning to form! This is when I began the search for my skin’s savior.

Having worked on cosmetics a few times in my life, I leaned towards the pricey “good stuff”, only to find out that much of it was too heavy and rich for my skin. AKA~Break Out City. Also, I’m a bit of a hippie at heart, so I tried natural remedies and many DIY salves, balms, etc… (for the record, I still think apple cider vinegar is a great toner). Still…nothing really did the job. Then I thought about that bottle I had seen my on my mother’s bathroon counter all my childhood. The one she would take two drops from each morning and apply to her face. Oil of Olay.

So, I took myself to CVS and started checking out Olay. Man…they had come a loooooong way since Mom’s day. They had really specialized! For the purposes of this review, I won’t list all the Olay products I have tried over the past 5 years, but I will say this: every single one of them delivered what they promised (more or less) and not one of them broke my skin out. I guess you can say I’m a fan.

As we age, our skin loses that youthful glow. I often find myself gazing at my 7 year old daughter’s glorious glowing, plump, smooth skin with just the teensiest tinge of envy. So, when I saw the Luminous Tone Correcting moisturizer, I knew it would be worth a shot. To be fair, I want to state that I was not 100% consistent in applying this morning and night. I’d say 40% of the time, I only did it once. Still, I am very happy with the results.

For the record, the very first photo was taken in my bathroom, so the lighing was different. The rest were all taken in natural light. As you can see, it evened out my skin tone quite a bit! What you can’t see in the photos, is the glow it’s given me. I can not capture it, sorry. But I have been stopped by strangers and people I know about this glow. It’s pretty remarkable. The moisturizer is also very lightweight and not at all greasy. I am a HUGE fan.

Leave a Reply

