Artist Spotlight: Edull

Zaftig Times spotlights artist Edull

I love art. If you’ve seen my home or even my body, you know that. This week, I stumbled upon a delightful artist names Edull. Perhaps you’ve heard of him? I’m willing to bet, you’ll recognize some of his work.

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull
He immortalized Tess

As I happily scoured through his body of work (pun intended) I found myself uplifted. To see bodies so like my own depicted with such love and joy brought me near tears. Sure, throughout time a zaftig figure has been depicted by artists; at some points it was even considered the archetype of beauty. However, we all know that is no longer the norm.

Zaftig Times features the art of Edull

Rather than simply pinning these images I knew I had to share them with as many people as possible. I am happy to tell you that not only is he the genius behind these lovely images, but he’s so super nice too boot! I reached out to him on his Facebook page and quickly we began chatting. He’s from Brazil, so we did have a bit of a language barrier, but it was nothing we couldn’t overcome. When I asked him what inspires him his response was I want to say that a plu size woman can do everything she wants. be fat it’s not a limitation.”, and I think that comes through in his art. Don’t you?

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull
You wanna be a super hero? Be a super hero!

And now comes the best part of all of this. When I was scrolling though Edull’s art my daughter walked in just as I found his princess illustrations. Her eyes widened, she gasped and clapped her hands “Oh Mommy! They’re beauuuuutiful!”. She made me look at them for close to an hour and despite their corpulence she recognized each and every one of them and never did she ask why they were fat. I was so proud of her. And then I grew proud of myself for raising a little girl who sees herself and other women without the unforgiving eyes of societal norms. And then I grew grateful to this man, Edull, for giving the world these amazing images. I hope am not the only mother to share these with her daughter and have this experience. 

Edull, você é um herói!!!

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull
This is Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull
I sort of want to BE her!

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull
Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull

Zaftig Times share the artwork of Edull
Edull posts all his work on his Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/edull.ardo
Leave a Reply

