Oh What a Night!

As most of you probably know, The Curvy Fashionista just celebrated her 5 year blog-iversary (have I just coined a phrase here?…perhaps). Anyway, how could I not attend the fabulous party of this fabulous woman? Even though I was a bit under the weather, I knew I had to be there. So I set out with my hot dates for a night of adventure and glamour.

Zaftig Times at #TCFTurns5 Party
Good golly my friends are beauties!

Armed to the teeth with all the glamour I could muster, I walked the red carpet which was hosted by the one and only Chenese Lewis. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t just a bit exhilarated. I am a girl who has never been in the VIP section of a club (unless you count getting to sit in a tiny booth in a tiny bar in Fullerton that they call the VIP section). So when I walked into the VIP section of Club Nokia I was stunned to say the least. The room was filled with fabulous women, music and tiny cupcakes…need I say more? Just fucking fabulousness wherever I looked.

Zaftig Times Party Ensemble
outfit details below

Here’s the kicker: yes, it was a wonderful party, of course it was. But it was out on the balcony in the cool night where I had the most fun. At some point, we decided to step outside for some fresh air and we just lost ourselves out there. It’s difficult to describe exactly what happened. Maybe it was some divine medley of cocktails and fashion and the large amount of mutual-admiration-society we had going on…I can’t say for sure. But as we stood and talked and took silly photos and giggled I watched each of my three friends start to beam. They just glowed. I couldn’t take my eyes off them, they were mesmerising with their happiness and freedom.

Zaftig Times at #TCFTurns5 Party

 I have seen this before at some of our Curvy Cocktails events, too. Unlike the scenario that often applies when you gather a group of women, there’s no snarky comments, no vying for the spotlight, no “that bitch stole my look” drama. In a city where image and body is everything, thrives this wonderfully supportive and inclusive community of women. Call them curvy, call them plus size, call them real…whatever term floats your boat. I will call them my sisters.

On the balcony where the magic happened

Yep, my friends are glorious models. Julia and Pia, you are everything!

The night was young and so were we ❤

Zaftig Times at #TCFTurns5 Party

Zaftig Times covers #TCFTurns5 Party
The lady of the night, Marie (aka The Curvy Fashionista) on the right and the gloriously beautiful model Candice Kelly on the left.

With one of my oldest friends (who is going to murder me for using her photos on the blog).

Outfit Details

* Hat and Stole: Vintage
* Sweater: Target
* Dress: Forever 21+
* Tights: Spanxx
* Boots: Payless
* Jewelry: a lil’ bit of old and a lil’ bit of new…I can’t recall there it’s all from
I would like to note that I bought nothing new for this event. I think there’s a lot to be said for reworking our existing wardrobes and making them new again.

Leave a Reply

