Wednesday Woman. Ragini.

Can I just tell you how much I am loving doing these posts? So much! This week’s Wednesday Woman is none other than Miss Ragini Nag Rao. You love her. I love her. Let’s love her together! Wait…that didn’t come out the way I’d intended. 

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
She wears adorable ears. Need I say more? (photo borrowed from A Curious Fancy)
Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo borrowed from A Curious Fancy


Much like my first Wednesday Woman, I find her vulnerability and candour immensely admirable. In my opinion, it is the greatest example of strength a woman can have. On her wonderful blog, A Curious Fancy, Ragini has openly shared herself with all of us. Eating disorders, self doubt, self injury, love, loss, sexuality, poverty and struggle. All of it out there in the open. And all of it written with such divine style and grace.

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo Borrowed from A Curious Fancy


That said, it was her wonderful, whimsical, charming fashion posts that first caught my attention. I’ve never known anyone with her marvellous style. 

Her blog states:

” I am fat, fanciful and whimsical. Well, actually I’m just plain eccentric, but it translates to whimsical in the virtual medium. I’m a fashion blogger who knows not one word about fashion; this is greatly amusing to me. Here you will find my outfits and writing (including the odd piece of fiction.) “

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo borrowed from A Curious Fancy

There’s even a story behind her storybook fashions, which I found fascinating.

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo borrowed from A Curious Fancy

I was even fortunate enough to ask this talented lady a few questions. I’m very excited to share it with you.

Zaftig:
When and why did you start blogging?

Ragini:
It stemmed from a love of clothes, really. I remember idly thinking about starting a blog back in late 2009 and writing down ideas on my phone. I toyed with it for a long time, kind of wanting to without being sure if I could stick at it. And one day I randomly made a Tumblr and started posting. 4 years later, I’m still at it, so clearly there’s something about blogging that I innately love. 

Zaftig:
You are so honest and vulnerable in your blog, how did you come to that? 

Ragini:
It’s just who I have always been. At one point of time in my early teens, I realised that I have nothing to hide from the world and since then, my life has been wholly accessible to anyone who chooses to be a part of it. There are possibly a multitude of reasons behind this, but the most obvious one is that I was abused on a daily basis till late in my teenage years and had no recourse to privacy. In the absence of any sort of personal space, be it physical or emotional, I had no choice but to adapt to a very public existence. However, although it might not seem that way, there’s much that I keep to myself, parts of my mind that even partners have never had access to. 

Zaftig:
If you had limitless money and time along with no emotional ties to keep you anywhere, what would you do with your life? 

Ragini:
Ah, this is difficult! I would probably retire to a little cottage in some wintry wilderness and live off the land. That has been a long cherished dream. 

Zaftig:
Who is/are your biggest inspirations? 

Ragini:
This might sound weird, but I tend not to be inspired by people. Because people are inherently flawed and I find it impossible to see anyone as a source of inspiration without noticing their clay feet.

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo borrowed from A Curious Fancy

I’d also like to note that she also writes for Rookie and can be seen on xoJane.com as well. 

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo Borrowed from A Curious Fancy

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo Borrowed from A Curious Fancy

Zaftig Times #WednesdayWoman Ragini
Photo Borrowed from A Curious Fancy

 If you’re not already following Ragini everywhere you possibly can, here’s links to her Blog, Twitter, tumblr and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

