The World is Filled With Beauty. 2 Wonderful Experiences in 1 Amazing Day.

I am at my happiest when I am surrounded by beauty. It could be music, art, even the beautiful women I am lucky enough to call my friends; if it’s pleasing to my senses, I am happy. I had the great fortune yesterday to have a day filled with beauty and I just could not wait to share it with you!

After a delightful brunch with a friend in L.A. we figured we should make a day of it. I’ve lived in Southern California for going on 13 years and I’d never visited The Santa Monica Pier. Other than being so very hot that I was a sweaty ball of chubby love and the wind blowing my dress up the whole time, it was really a treat!

Did you know the pier has been around since 1909?? Here’s a little history for you.
Michelle of Zaftig Times
I believe I was trying to flirt someone into giving me their ice cold soda here.

Santa Monica Pier. ZaftigTimes.com
These pelicans are HUUUUUUUUGE!!
Michelle of Zaftig Times OOTD. Mixinf florals and stripes
Sleeveless, knees bare, stripes and flowers together and a bright yellow bag. Is is a do? Or a don’t? I say it’s a DO!

He doesn’t let me take his photo often, but he’s so damn handsome!

I’m telling you, they were ENORMOUS!

You might recall my post about a visit to The Getty Center months ago. This time we went to The Getty Villa. I can not say enough good things about these two museums! They’re free (okay, you pay for parking), rarely crowded and very well curated. If you live in or visit Southern California visiting them both is a must!

Zaftig Times visit to The Getty Villa
At The Getty Villa in Malibu

Zaftig Times visit to The Getty Villa
Bronze works that caught my eye

I even managed to snap a couple pics of my camera shy hubby. <3!!!

Zaftig Times visit to The Getty Villa

Zaftig Times visit to The Getty Villa

Before you get all “don’t touch the art!!!” on me, this is the one piece they encourage you to touch.

Michelle of Zaftig Times getting up close and personal with Venus
Doing my very best Venus pose (left) and getting frisky with a goddess (right)
Works in marble, bronze and gold at The Getty Villa
Michelle of Zaftig Times at The Getty Villa
So very at peace

Even looking at these images now is putting a smile on my face. I hope your weekend was filled with this much happiness.

xoxo
M

One thought on “The World is Filled With Beauty. 2 Wonderful Experiences in 1 Amazing Day.

Leave a Reply

