Posh LA Fashion Week A Plus Size Affair

As many of us know, very little happens in the plus size fashion world here in Southern California. So when I read about Posh L.A., I knew I just had to be there! Friends, let me tell you, it was truly an amazing event. The people were delightful, the fashions were marvelously fresh and flattering and the panel discussion was enlightening.

http://www.cheneselewis.com/
Left to right: Chenese Lewis, Marcy Guevera, Inez Lewis, Shanda Freeman
http://www.plus-model-mag.com/
Left to right: Shanda Freeman, Tulin Reid, Reah Norman

A lively discussion was had about the “general miss” on marketing to the plus size woman (ie: Eloquii going out of business due to their failure to find us), the business of photo-shopping our models out of reality and being happy with ourselves today not when we lose 15 pounds. I think my favorite quote of the day came from East Coast designer, Shanda Freeman when talking about living life who said “We only do this one time. Why not do it beautifully?”.

Now what you’ve been waiting for….THE FASHIONS! For me, there were two dynamic standout lines, Cult of California and Shanda Style. Although these two lines are dramatically different from each other I was entranced by both of them.

Chic, fun and youthful is the name of the game when I think of Cult of California. I failed to get a decent photo of the infamous Galaxy Dress, but it was everything I’d imagined it would be. Topped of my the miraculous Rosie Mercado floating down the runway looking ever so ethereal, I was an instant fan.

http://shop.cultofca.com/collections/frontpage/products/coc53-butter-step-up-top
Cult of California
http://shop.cultofca.com/collections/frontpage/products/coc110312-batwing-dress-mint
Rosie Mercado in Cult of California

On the gloriously glamorous tip, you could not go wrong with Shanda Freeman. This collection brought me back to the 70s in the best way possible. White, gold, shimmer and even fringe! This truly is a destination line.

http://www.shandafreeman.com/collections/frontpage/products/dress2
Shanda Freeman

This event was inspired and I can hardly wait to attend the next. I applaud Green Jones Productions for pulling this off. It is also worth mentioning that the models were a myriad of shapes and sizes. My hat tips to whoever collected such a wonderful variety of plus size runway walkers!

http://www.12-oh-1.com/#!collection/photostackergallery2=3
12-Oh-1!

  As a side note, I also had the opportunity to meet some remarkable women. Every single person I came in contact with was warm, genuine and also thrilled to be there! Let’s all do our part to keep bringing our community together and sharing our passion for style, zest for life and kindness.

Me and Marie Denee (The Curvy Fashionista)

With the incomparable Rosie Mercado

Pia Schiavo-Campo (Curvy Sexy Chic), Jen Wilder (Cult of California) and lil’ ol’ me

2 thoughts on “Posh LA Fashion Week A Plus Size Affair

Leave a Reply

