Me? Where are you?

I am a woman on a mission. That mission is to rediscover myself.

Where’d I go, you ask? Excellent question. Last year I became ill and found myself trying to acclimate to my new “label”.  On that journey I found myself introverted and distant from the people I love most, my family. As I started to come back to myself I was overwhelmed by “mom guilt” for having not been perfect and involved and impervious the the ups and downs of this world. I over corrected. In an effort to be better for my family I let go of everything that made me….well, me. I’m sure many of you have wandered down the very same path from time to time. I, however, got lost in the bramble of it all for just under a year.

Now, as 2013 is nearing the spring equinox this month, I am finding my new path. Correction, I am making my new path. It is my great hope to find a way to weave together the things I love, the things I believe and the things I want. And I am inviting you all to come along for the ride. In this month of springtime and rebirth I am putting a challenge before myself. I will do just one thing each day for me. Sounds simple, yes? But when was the last time any of us really did something for ourselves every single day for a full month? Speaking for the women I know, it was a long, long time ago. A time before children. A time before the economy took a nose dive. A time before we decided to be “grown ups”.

Can I really devote myself to myself? At the end of the month, I’ll share the experience with you all.

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-38946326-1’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘zaftigtimes.com’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

Leave a Reply

